White Birch Bookstore
**
**
**
Home Page
**
About Us
**
In Store Events
**
Staff Picks
**
Book Group
****
Videos
****
Gift Cards
****
Find Us
****
In The News
****
Blog
****
Contact Us
 
Signup For Our Newsletter
**
 

Mystery Book Group

magnifying glassThe Mystery Book Club meets at the store on the second Thursday of every month with Barb as the fearless leader. A small group, discussion books range from historical mysteries to contemporary thrillers. Books are usually picked a couple months in advance, but sometimes the group goes crazy and lines up books for several months.

As with all of our groups, the Mystery Book Club is open to anyone interested and can be a great place to meet fellow readers. We’ve seen wonderful
friendships form and grow while discussing murder and mayhem – as it should be.

january

CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox
Thursday, JANUARY 10, 2019, 7 PM

CRIMSON LAKE by Candice FoxCrimson Lake, by Sydney-based, Ned Kelly Award-winning author Candice Fox, is a thrilling contemporary crime novel set in Queensland, Australia, perfect for readers of authors like James Patterson, Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Tana French.

How do you move on when the world won’t let you?

12:46: Claire Bingley stands alone at a bus stop
12:47: Ted Conkaffey parks his car beside her
12:52: The girl is missing . . .

Six minutes in the wrong place at the wrong time—that’s all it took to ruin Sydney detective Ted Conkaffey’s life. Accused but not convicted of a brutal abduction, Ted is now a free man—and public enemy number one. Maintaining his innocence, he flees north to keep a low profile amidst the steamy, croc-infested wetlands of Crimson Lake.

There, Ted’s lawyer introduces him to eccentric private investigator Amanda Pharrell, herself a convicted murderer. Not entirely convinced Amanda is a cold-blooded killer, Ted agrees to help with her investigation, a case full of deception and obsession, while secretly digging into her troubled past. The residents of Crimson Lake are watching the pair's every move... and the town offers no place to hide.

Audio BooksStore HoursFacebookTwitterInstagramYou TubeKobo Read freelyWhite Mountain Independents
** **