White Birch Bookstore
**
**
**
Home Page
**
About Us
**
In Store Events
**
Staff Picks
**
Book Group
****
Videos
****
Gift Cards
****
Find Us
****
In The News
****
Blog
****
Contact Us
 
Signup For Our Newsletter
**
 

Mystery Book Group

magnifying glassThe Mystery Book Club meets at the store on the second Thursday of every month with Barb as the fearless leader. A small group, discussion books range from historical mysteries to contemporary thrillers. Books are usually picked a couple months in advance, but sometimes the group goes crazy and lines up books for several months.

As with all of our groups, the Mystery Book Club is open to anyone interested and can be a great place to meet fellow readers. We’ve seen wonderful
friendships form and grow while discussing murder and mayhem – as it should be.

OCTOBER

ONE BOOK, ONE VALLEY
KENNETT HIGH SCHOOL
THURSDAY, OCTOBER 25 AT 7PM

WHERE YOU’LL FIND ME by New Hampshire author, Ty GagneThis is the 13th Annual One Book One Valley program and this year’s book will be WHERE YOU’LL FIND ME by New Hampshire author, Ty Gagne.
The mission of this program is to strengthen community ties and promote literacy through reading and discussing a book with a theme that resonates locally. The vision: Imagine if folks throughout Mount Washington Valley read the same book. Then talked about it. And THEN got to come together to meet the author at a special valley-wide event. One Book One Valley is successful because of you, the individual reader, and YOU, our community of readers, coming together.

ABOUT THE BOOK:
On February 15, 2015, Kate Matrosova, an avid mountaineer, set off before sunrise for a traverse of the Northern Presidential Range in New Hampshire's White Mountains. Late the following day, rescuers carried her frozen body out of the mountains amid some of the worst weather ever recorded on these deceptively rugged slopes.
At 32, she was ultra-fit and healthy and had already summited much larger mountains on several continents. Her gear included a rescue beacon and a satellite phone. Yet, despite their best efforts, forty-two expert search and rescue personnel, a New Hampshire Army National Guard Blackhawk helicopter, and a Civil Air Patrol Cessna airplane could not reach her in time to save her.
What went wrong? Where You'll Find Me offers possible answers to that question, demonstrating why Matrosova's story - what we know and what we will never know - represents such an intriguing and informative case study in risk analysis and decision-making.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Ty Gagne is chief executive officer of New Hampshire Public Risk Management Exchange (Primex3), a public entity risk pool serving local governments in New Hampshire. He is a certified wilderness first responder, and serves on the Androscoggin Valley Search and Rescue Team and Board of Directors. He lives in New Hampshire with his wife.

BOOK GROUPS AND EVENT:
We will be reading and discussing this book for our October Mystery Book Group and encourage anyone to join us at the bookstore on October 11 at 7pm for our discussion. Or be sure to connect with another book group in town at one of your local libraries!
Then meet us all at Kennett High School on Thursday, October 25 at 7pm to hear author Ty Gagne!

november

Murder in an English Village by Jessica Ellicott
Thursday, November 8 at 7pm

As friends, the boisterous and brash American Beryl couldn’t be less alike than the prim and proper British Edwina. But as sleuths in an England recovering from the Great War, they’re the perfect match . . .

Murder in an English Village by Jessica Ellicott1920: Flying in the face of convention, legendary American adventuress Beryl Helliwell never fails to surprise and shock. The last thing her adoring public would expect is that she craves some peace and quiet. The humdrum hamlet of Walmsley Parva in the English countryside seems just the ticket. And, honestly, until America comes to its senses and repeals Prohibition, Beryl has no intention of returning stateside and subjecting herself to bathtub gin.

For over three decades, Edwina Davenport has lived comfortably in Walmsley Parva, but the post–World War I bust has left her in dire financial straits and forced her to advertise for a lodger. When her long-lost school chum Beryl arrives on her doorstep—actually crashes into it in her red motorcar—Edwina welcomes her old friend as her new roommate.

january

CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox
Thursday, JANUARY 10, 2019, 7 PM

CRIMSON LAKE by Candice FoxCrimson Lake, by Sydney-based, Ned Kelly Award-winning author Candice Fox, is a thrilling contemporary crime novel set in Queensland, Australia, perfect for readers of authors like James Patterson, Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Tana French.

How do you move on when the world won’t let you?

12:46: Claire Bingley stands alone at a bus stop
12:47: Ted Conkaffey parks his car beside her
12:52: The girl is missing . . .

Six minutes in the wrong place at the wrong time—that’s all it took to ruin Sydney detective Ted Conkaffey’s life. Accused but not convicted of a brutal abduction, Ted is now a free man—and public enemy number one. Maintaining his innocence, he flees north to keep a low profile amidst the steamy, croc-infested wetlands of Crimson Lake.

There, Ted’s lawyer introduces him to eccentric private investigator Amanda Pharrell, herself a convicted murderer. Not entirely convinced Amanda is a cold-blooded killer, Ted agrees to help with her investigation, a case full of deception and obsession, while secretly digging into her troubled past. The residents of Crimson Lake are watching the pair's every move... and the town offers no place to hide.

Audio BooksStore HoursFacebookTwitterInstagramYou TubeKobo Read freelyWhite Mountain Independents
** **